Letterston is situated on the busyA40 trunk road lying ten miles north of Haverfordwest and five-and-a-half miles south of Fishguard. The community clusters around the crossroads at the square with roads extending west towards Mathry and east in the direction of Puncheston.
Much development has taken place in recent years swelling the population numbers to around 1200, making it one of the biggest villages in Pembrokeshire.
The village is ideally located in the countryside with easy access to the Preselis, Gwaun Valley and the coastal path.
Letterston boasts excellent facilities including a new state-fo-the art school and a well equipped hall which is well used by the community and organisations around the county. There is also a thriving business community.
The village derived its name form the ancient family of Lettards to whom the parish belonged. Significant local building include Priskilly Forest Country House whose origins date back to 1326.
The villages' recent history reflects a more military bias. The memorial hall was originally built in 1949 to commemorate the end of World War II and the subsequent war memorial is a tribute to the fallen of both wars,